Silence

This blog is very silent in last few months. There are two main reasons: I publish mostly on gopher and at work I am too busy.

I do lot of boring office work but sometimes I am able to do something more interesting: some computing, modelling and so. In these cases my desktop looks like on the picture.

Some boring work...

I needed to co some computing with use of my FEA package. Of course, I have found several bugs. I also found that some features are already implemented… (I forgot that they exists – fortunately they were describen in the manual). That was funny.

There are some issues: the GUI of software is written in Gtk+ 2.x (and there are fallbacks to Gtk+ 1.2.x and to the basic CLI + GLUT interface). And it’s old and very slow. I wrote most of the GUI before 2006 and I mostly didn’t touched it after that. So portability to Windows or Mac is limited and it is not posssible to run it natively on Ubuntu Touch (nor run it under the Android at all). I though about making of Motif GUI but I never started to code it. And now it probably makes no sense as Motif is even les portable than the Gtk+.

Freshly compiled uFEM on Ubuntu Touch

Honestly, the GUI is fully functional in the Ubuntu Touch but only inside the Libertine container (via the XMir) so it looks ugly and it requires external hardware keyboard to be usable. But that’s a small problem. The bigger one is that the only Ubuntu Touch device which I can use for such task is the Aquaris M10 tablet. And it is surprisingly slow when doing this type of computing (but speed in GUI is OK). I’m thinking about Qt5 port but it looks like a long-term problem now.

Silence

Leave a Reply

