What to do with all these reminders?

As you may know, I like to use the Remind program as my calendar. Is pretty nice, it works nearly everywhere but it is not well supported in the GUI of modern smartphones. This is obvious: the command-line program it does not fit well the typical UI of a smartphone. And it is really not comfortable to use a command-line application on a touchscreen-only device. So I have to use the build-in calendar on my Ubuntu phone. It is not bat but it stores data on the Google calendar (no other backend is supported at the moment).

OK, there is nothing really secret in my calendar so I probably can have it at Google. But what to get and use these data on real operating systems?

It’s quite easy – even the Big Evil provides a private link for every calendar so one can download it with whget or curl. It is in the ics format so you can use the ical2rem tool co convert it to a proper form. And that’s all!

P.S. You might want to send your calendar to a Palm device. There is no tool for that but it should be easy to make something. At the moment I have a simple tool to send remind stuff to my Palm as a (sort of) untimed events. So precise times are ignored at the moment. I have this very simple AWK script:


#! /usr/bin/awk -f
BEGIN { }
{ a = $1 ; $1=$2=$3=$4=$5="" ; b = $0 ;
print a," 8:00:00 GMT+0 \t", a, "16:00:00 GMT+0 \t \t" b}
END { }

The use of the script is:


remind -p .reminders |grep -v "\#" | ./rem2palm |iconv -f latin2 -t cp1250 |tee my-events ; install-datebook /dev/ttyf2 my-events ; rm -f my-events

It’s not nice but it can be used as a temporary solution.

What to do with all these reminders?

Leave a Reply

