Remote Zaurus

Well, not exactly. But I probably (and maybe just partially) solved my problem with remote control of a music player. Before a very long time I had an iPad with a remote controls. It wasn’t a bad solution because it allowed to have the player itself to be hidden in the bag and the controls were able to be placed on some well-accessible place. And an inability to remotely control the music playback was the main problem of the Ben NanoNote’s music functionality (it has many other advantages, though). The ability to at least switch the songs and stop the playback remotely was one of main reasons why I used my iPhone 3G so long.

My Ubuntu Phone has no such possibility (I don’t know it there is any compatible third-party product). So I have concentrated on the old Sharp Zaurus machines. There are at least two types of a remote controls (CE-RH1 and CE-RH2) but they are very rare (they are rare the most probably because they were sold as a separate – and quite expensive – add-ons).

As a surprise, my favorite handheld supplier send me the complete CE-RH1 set as a present! So now I have a remote control for my Zauri.

The remote itself is very nice. It isn’t a jewel of the design (as the Apple’s remotes are) but it’ fully funcitonal and also quite powerful: there are the start/stop buttons, the next/previous buttons and the volume control (for example, the modern iPhone control only allows to start/stop and to shuffle songs). The Sharp’s remote thingy is also quite big but a very light so it is very comfortable.

There are problems with my Zauri, though. The 6000 has a 2.5 mm audio jack which is incompatible. The 750 has a damaged audio system (a hardware fault) so it doesn’t make sense to use an audio remote here. And the 3200 has problems with drivers (I don’t want to reinstall it because I have lot of other working – and more important – things here). So the only candidate is the SL-C750. It’s white-silver colour also well matches the colour of the remote. And the things work well, there is even no need to have the music player in the foreground. So the main problem is a size of available space for music. The biggest compatible SD card size is 1 GB (there is a driver for 2 GB cards but it works only on the newer machines and not here).

So, after some time and some fixes, I considering to start to use the Zaurus on a less or more daily basis. I’m going to see what happens…

Remote Zaurus

Leave a Reply

