Intel Compute Stick

As a temporary solution after a long chain of my hardware failures I have decided to get the Intel Compute Stick thing. At the moment I don’t have other modern desktop or notebook device at home (tablets don’t count – none of them fit’s my requirements for a comfortable desktop use).

I still use the O2 as my main desktop computer (for computing, writing and more) but there are things that have to be done on something more up-to-date (mostly WWW/Javascript/remote access things). I thought about something Android-based but it seems that an usual desktop operating system is better for me. Also the hardware compatibility is quite good with that stick – I use things like an external USB hub, an USB wired Ethernet and PS/2 to USB converter for keyboard and mouse and everything works. Also a HDMI to DVI converter works (I use the ViewSonic VP171b LCD screen with 1280×1024 resolution – an none of my Android-based devices support it).

Unfortunately, the Stick with Ubuntu is still unavailable so I opted for the available one.

I didn’t expected too much from the device but it actually works. The preinstalled OS is not my favorite but it works OK as a launcher for the Firefox. I’m going to test few more things (remote access stuff, some emulators,…)

The speed is better than I expected. But I’m rather patient person so others may find this computer to be slow. Anyway, I noticed that 20+ opened tabs in the Firefox cause some temporary freezings…

The Geekbench 2 score is 2309 (the links point to my actual results). It’s not so bad number as a 2.0 GHz dual-core PowerPC computers have Geekbench scores about 2000 and the BQ Aquaris phones (I have an Aquaris 4.5 with the Ubuntu) have scores about 1300. But it’s a synthetic benchmark, of course 😉

Intel Compute Stick

6 thoughts on “Intel Compute Stick

  1. logout says:

    Very nice, it seems that I’m not the only one thinking about getting faster PC-compatible machine to do all the boring tasks for which is now necessary to run my G5. I never thought about this possibility, because I need some ports and slots for my hardware that stick cannot provide, I am however surprised by the GB2 score.

  2. Well, I’m not sure it if is really as responsible as a PowerPC or MIPS workstations. No matter how high are benchmark numbers. At the moment I run two machines together for a reason: the Fireflop is really more usable on the Stick but real stuff is more responsible and easier to use on the O2 😦

    And using the C-Ray benchmark, the Stick (with 1300 MHz processor) needs 2297 ms but my desktop needs 4158 ms (with just a 250 MHz CPU). And it’s mostly a floating-point benchmark and the SGI O2 known to have crampled floating point performance.

  3. logout says:

    Well, I have been using GeekBench2 for about six years now on Mac and PC and the results had been quite informative. I mean when the score is double of another score, the computer in fact was twice as fast for CPU intensive stuff.

    But as I see in C-Ray results on page you linked, on Stick it probably works strange, because in C-Ray my G5 when using just single thread has 1073ms, less than a half of Stick, which in GB2 has almost 50% higher score than both my G5 CPU together. Strange. Was Stick computing C-Ray in single or multiple threads?

  4. logout says:

    I just tried that single core test on my 6-year-old Core2 laptop and result is 363ms. Multithreaded version is around 193ms.

Leave a Reply

