Do things in a modern way

Recently I was on a short trip. Of course, I tried to find some geocaches. As I forgot to load some them into my GPS device at home, I had to do it on the road. With a good wifi and a modern Android tablet it should be no problem. But:

  • The tablet refused to write files to the GPS (attached via USB cable). It was recognized OK but it was read-only for some reason.
  • It is not possible to write anything to a MicroSD taken from GPS and inserted into the tablet (it is possible only into the Android/*** directory – which is not that the GPS device expects…).

Gosau See

So I had to enter the coordinates manually and save the help as a POI note. Thats’ really user-friendly 😦

Next time I will know that carrying of a tablet is pointless.

Do things in a modern way

Leave a Reply

