Zaurus as pocket workstation

After few small upgrades I have started to use my Zaurus C760 even more intensively. Actually I did just three things:

  1. added a HDD (a 4 GB Hitachi Microdrive) into CF slot,
  2. activated a 128 MB swap file on the HDD,
  3. replaced the plastic stylus with metal one.

The points 1 and 3 made the machine bit heavier but it’s comparable with the C3200 without such add-ons and it is still thinner.
The HDD has several pluses: I hesitate to use swap file on a SD card (it is not so easy find a compatible SD today). So the HDD helps much here. The swapping to a relatively fast device is useful because 64 MB of RAM is not that much for tasks like viewing of large PDF files. It is also useful to have opened several program at once (for example: a PDF reader, a text editor for making of notes, a dictionary and sometimes also a calculator or other similar computing tool).
The second thing is an additional space for data (TeX sources, PDF files to read and other things that are better to have in the pocket). The obvious minus is of course the fact that it occupies the CF socket. So one can’t use the WiFi card or the camera if the disk is in use. But it isn’t a big limitation for me because I rarely use these things on the Zaurus.

The stylus is just for my better feeling. The plastic one is perfectly usable but the metal one looks better. It is heavier so it looks like a more solid.

Text Editing on  Zaurus

I often use the (La)TeX to make articles and presentations. A image file with a teTeX installation is still available somewhere and it fits on a bigger SD card (it’s under 400 MB). It’s relatively basic setup but for normall stuff it works (a making it to work with the cslatex is still on my ToDo list…). It works on an acceptable speed. The large hardware keyboard is great, the only problem is use of the { } braces but it can be solved by use of the ZEditor function called idioms..

Actual computing is a bit harder because I still not manage the Octave to work (it’s included in package feed but it fails to start) – a compilation of the Octave is probably too hard task for me. Thus I am limited to my command-line tools plus the Gnuplot at the moment. But that’s OK for most of my use.

Zaurus as pocket workstation

Leave a Reply

