NanoNote in use

There was no new item for a very long time. I is not because I abandoned my NanoNote or because I decided to quit my blog. The reason is simple: I actually use my NanoNote on daily basis and I haven’t find anything interesting or unusual.

So what is new? There are some interesting posts on the Hans Bezemer’s blog. Obviously, there is progress on software side. For example, one can find the Love2D game library and some sample games>. Also there are new software images with bug fixed, with more software (console font changes are more easy) and so.

NanoNote as music player

Honestly, I still have using old software image from June just because it works for me. I actually don’t need graphical application starter nor smaller console font nor other enhancements. And I don’t want to do any changes on machine which which currently serves as my main portable computer.

And what software I use most frequently in these days? Here is a list:

  • Remind calendar and reminder.
  • Todo.sh task manager.
  • Hierarchical notebook as outliner, notetaking tool as a supplemental checklist manager.
  • SnowNews RSS feed reader.
  • Vim text editor (for longer texts, programming,..).
  • SDCV console based dictionary.
  • GMU music player.

Less frequently I use other pieces of software like sc spreadsheet, QuickCalc and Mathomatic calculators, imgv image viewer and NanoMap mapping software.

I used my NanoNote as my only computer during my latest trip to Valencia and it was ideal for my needs. It was always available (because it easily fits in any pocket) and it was able to do any work that I can expect from laptop (notetaking, e-mail, IM, calendars, basic reading of PDF and office files etc, of course except TeX compilations as I still haven’t tried to install the TeX). I also had my OpenMoko phone with me but I used it only as a GPS device (and as a phone, of course).

NanoNote in use

Leave a Reply

