Ben NanoNote on holidays

Recently I was on short holidays in the Lithuania, the Latvia and the Estonia. My only computer in that time was the Ben (not counting my Neo Freerunner phone which was turned off for most of time).

Cottage in LIthuania

I didn’t planned any intensive use computers during the traveling so I thought
that the Ben will be enough. And yes, it was.

So what I did with my Ben and what applications I used for these tasks?

First of all, I wrote some textual informations (where I have wait for the bus
and so), and I also made a checklist (to not forget to pack anything usefull).
The hnb program is great for such tasks. I also
saved few maps and public transport maps (you know: these colorful imaes
which are usually available on transport companies sites) and I used the “imgv”
program to view them.

Kurskaja Kosa, Lithuania

I also downloaded some maps (and put some points of interests) for the
“NanoMap” program but actually there was no need to use them.

I also did some usual things like some reading of stored HTML and PDF (“Links”
and “NuPdf” programs) files, some dictionary searches (“sdcv”) and so.

Because I have a MicroSD WiFi card I also used the Ben for e-mail, RSS news
reading with snownews
and for some www searches with (“surfraw” and “links”). There were no problems
with WiFi connectivity (except one hotel where the only WiFi-covered place was
the first floor). Actually, I downloaded the RSS news data in the evening and
readed them during the morning in the bus (if nothing interesting was around).

Unfortunately, I forget my earphones at home so I wasn’t aple to listen music
with the GMU (it wasn’t acceptable in the bus to play music aloud).

In general I was satisfied with the Ben. In is really a pocket computer (I mean
it really easily fits in my pocket) so it is easy to carry and it is available
when needed. The battery life was also OK for such use: I carried an external
power pack (Just Mobile) in my luggage but
newer used it.

Ben NanoNote on holidays

Leave a Reply

